Summer has returned to our little corner of the world and with it, some late nights because it’s too hot to fall asleep. I don’t think I’ve even tried to go to bed until 11:30 pm the last two nights. The kids are in and out of the pool a couple of times a day. I’m trying to work on home school stuff, so I’m hauling books, calendars and my notebook in and out from the yard. Right now, they are all stacked on the dining room table and I really don’t have the motivation to move them.

I finally gave up on trying to get something accomplished and enjoyed the afternoon. I let the kids loose with the camera and we had a bit of fun.

T-Man and I had a little competition, I still win, but not for long:

7 year old feet

G-Bunny took this lovely and very accurate picture of me:

Fields of Clover

I had the camera first though and as I was sitting on my chaise lounge, about 10 feet from the back bird feeder, I saw it. The little bird I noticed the other morning, while sitting out on the patio drinking my morning coffee.

Here are the pictures I got yesterday.

Two-thirds Bird

Third Bird

The first picture is of the “good” side. The second is a not-to-gruesome picture of it’s missing eye and oddly shaped head on the “bad” side. What I noticed the other day was this bird hopping strangely with one side always facing me. I realized, as soon as another bird flew to the feeder, that it was watching out with the good eye and keeping the bad side toward the feeder. I was concerned until I spooked it and it flew up into the trees just fine. I guess our feeders are keeping it close to our yard, maybe it’s home is in our trees and maybe it will be healthy enough to make it through the winter.

This little bird gives me hope.

It reminds me of the poem quoted in the movie G.I. Jane by the Master Chief.

Self-pity

I never saw a wild thing
sorry for itself.
A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough
without ever having felt sorry for itself.

DH Lawrence

And the sunset reminded me that I have a lot to be grateful for, blessings I can’t begin to count and it does absolutely no good to sit and feel sorry for myself.

Sunset 8-6-08

