I’ve been avoiding posting for the last few days. I’ve been in a miserable mood, not wanting to talk to anyone or discuss anything that might push me straight to tears. Which could be just about anything at this point.

Last Friday night we actually had plans to go out. In public. Where there are other people. Shocking I know. We needed to do something for T-Man’s birthday and the Monster Madness show at the Evergreen State Fair was a perfect outing for him. Hubby got home from work and we drove straight over. We got food, found seats and I took the kids down to the pits to take some pictures.

Public Disturbance

I’m a simple country girl. I love big trucks, motorcycles and loud music. And I love the fair. I yell and scream when the sparks fly and I love the rumble in my chest when a truck with 1500+ horses under the hood fires up. This was the look I wanted to see on my kids’ faces when we set out for the evening.

Monster Truck Faces

We watched the trucks do their qualifying heats, then the Quads did their first race. There were some CRAZY!! motocross guys that did some fantastic tricks on a 75′ jump. I can’t keep up with all the new tricks and names, but there were a couple of backflips that the crowd went crazy for. They really were the highlight of the show, until the fireworks.

Yes, that's a backflip!

The trucks came back out for the Head-to-Head action.

Head to Head

Honestly, I have no idea who actually “won” because the truck I picked as my first favorite was towed off the track right after the introductions. My second favorite truck, Monster Moose, was driven by the only woman and she was out right after smashing the trailer in the freestyle event. That left the Airborne Ranger truck, which really deserves a post of its own and the Natural High truck that the boys had picked at the beginning.

The Quads came out again and I really have no idea who won that either.

Quad Wars

By the second rotation of events it was too dark for the motocross guys to do flips and the crowd didn’t seem to have a voice left. (I know I couldn’t scream anymore!) The trucks came back out for the final Freestyle portion of the show, but it was so dark on the track it was hard to see. The Natural High truck was the Family Overall Favorite of the night with it’s wheelies and huge air.

Natural High

We sat back when all the motorized stuff was done and watched one of the best fireworks shows we’ve ever seen and headed home. It was good to get out of the house for a bit, but I’m really looking forward to the Demolition Derby, School Bus races and Hornets this weekend!

