First Day of Homeschool 2008

Today was our first day of school and I’m pleased that it went as well as it did. Well, as it is going. Currently, T-Man is working on his journal writing and G-Bunny is deep into a book about fashion that we just checked out at the library. I’m just thrilled that we can go to the library in the middle of the day and call it a field trip!

I have finally settled on the Math curriculum we are going to use and that will get ordered this week. I’m still trying to decide how much Language Arts stuff to buy. Do I really need all the readers and workbooks with lesson plans figured out or do I have a good enough grasp to go it alone? I’m thinking somewhere in the middle, but we are still looking.

We drew for weekly chores this morning and you would have thought I was handing out tickets for the lottery. They cheered and hollered, which was the opposite from what I was expecting. Of course, there was the anticipated plea for allowances, which will be worked into Math at some point. We’ve tried it in the past, but decided to put it on hold for a bit for various reasons.

I’ve enjoyed being involved in their learning, watching the “light” come on and having them come tell me something new that they read about. We have a few areas that need work – on both sides, but I’m sure we will be chugging along like a well-oiled machine in a couple of weeks.

