I have friends. I know that. I have a couple of friends that I’ve had so long I can’t remember a time I didn’t know them. I have a couple of friends that I can talk to after years apart and pick up right where we left off. I have one good friend in every town we’ve lived in, but most of those have become Christmas Card Friends. I’ve managed to collect over 60 friends on Facebook despite myself.

Alaska was the exception to the rule. I found myself, quite by accident, friends with three amazing women. We were The Responsibles. We met because we all had kids in the same Kindergarten class at a small private school. By the Spring Fieldtrip Season, we realized that one of the four of us had been on every fieldtrip or at every function for the whole year. We decided that we were the Most Responsible Moms of the Class – hence our name. The kids were all in different First Grade classes, but we still got together for playdates and Mom’s Nights. As the kids got busier, I found time to spend with all of them. I would have a playdate/mom talk with one, dinner with another and meet up on the weekend with the third. After we moved back to Washington, it became clear that it would never be the same.

Our roles had changed again. One sends me all the funny cartoon emails and the political stuff, if only because she knows that we are on opposite sides and still like each other. Her hubby was my Hubby’s fishing buddy and she is one of the funniest people I know. The Second One is home schooling her kids this year too, is probably the one I’m closest too and the one I miss the most. She knows all of my dark secrets and we can talk for hours on the phone. The Last One is the one I speak to the least now. We haven’t had a good conversation in over a year, not because of anything important, but because we are on two different schedules.

I realized today that I am the one that becomes invisible.

