It’s Saturday again. The only day of the week where I don’t have an alarm to get up to or someplace I need to be at a certain time. My kids are finally of the age to pour themselves a bowl of cereal for breakfast and entertain themselves for the first part of the morning, so I can sleep in. It’s never past 9 am, but that’s better than 6 am!

Hubby went back to work yesterday and I had a friend over in the morning for coffee and a chat. The kids played outside for a couple of hours after lunch and went back out, even after we got A.C. from school. By 4:45 pm however, the events of the afternoon climaxed in an unfortunate loud recorder playing incident (my son) and everyone being placed in different rooms for my sanity.

The drama started when we got home from the school. I let all three kids out of the car, to stand in the front lawn, while I pulled the car into the garage. We had cleaned out the bay with the door opener so that at least one car would be frost-free in the mornings. Hubby had taken my car, since it was raining when he left and left me with his cozy ride.

I got out of the car and pushed the button on the visor, as I watched to make sure the door was going to clear. (It’s a long car and a very tight fit!) All of a sudden, I heard the sound of crunching metal and realized that the garage door had hit the car and was NOT retracting!

This is the resulting scratch in the back of the car:

Exhibit Car

(Please excuse the dirt. I firmly believe that it protects the paint and I’m sticking to that story.)

Anyway, the damage to the door was such that I couldn’t get it to close OR open correctly again. I released the drive chain and got the car backed out into the driveway again, let the kids into the house and then tried to get the door shut.

Exhibit Door

This is the top, where the hardware pulled away and ripped the door.

Top of Door

This entire bar was peeled away from the door, as the opener kept pushing it down onto the car.

Inside Damage

A close up of the top of the door.

Inside Top

I called Hubby at work and told him about the “incident.” He’s not the type to get upset and mad about this sort of thing, which I am so thankful for. He got home a little bit later and took a look at the door with me. We will talk to our landlord and see what he wants done and then get it repaired. I’m not sure what we are going to do with the scratch in the car, but I don’t want it to rust.

I’m just really happy that today is Saturday. I need the break.

