With all of the election “talk” this week and no rest for the weekend, I have been staying away from as much media as possible and refraining from posting here, only because I’ve been away from the computer.  (Unless I’m on Facebook, which is it’s own addiction and another matter entirely.)

The thing is, we vote by mail here in our county and Hubby and I voted last week.  I’m mentally done with everything and ready to find out the results.  Sort of like the finale of Survivor, where they all have cast their votes and have to wait for Jeff to ride outside the helicopter to California and do the big reveal under the big lights.  I just want the whole thing over and done with.

I’m tired of the bashing on both sides.

The false articles circulating via email.  The debate and uproar about things that have no relevance to the office of the President – like if Trig is actually Sarah Palin’s son or the fact that Barack Obama went to visit his ailing grandmother before it was too late – drives me up the wall.  The respect for personal family issues has disappeared and has been replaced by the demand to feed the national gossip machine and it makes me ill.  I’m appalled that I can choose which TV station to watch so that I hear what I want to hear, rather than the facts without bias.

How about reporting that the price of oil is down to $64 a barrel, from a high of $147 in July? I haven’t heard that shouted off any rooftops this week.  How about reporting on the damage in Galveston that has gotten no coverage in the last couple of weeks, despite the severe damage from Hurricane Ike? The water restrictions were only lifted last week, but we haven’t heard a peep about Red Cross donations or clean up efforts.  How about the first winter storms blowing across the nation, one dumping about 10 inches of snow in Billings, Montana on October 10th, easily breaking the records for that date? Or that the Northeast is being buried in snow as I type this? It’s surely not on the Google ticker today.

I found articles about all of the topics listed above, but not on the front pages of any major news sites and not on my iGoogle homepage tabs.  The nations media has tunnel vision on one thing and one thing only today: Barack Obama.  Which is as he planned I suppose.

I could really care less about who speaks better or who debates better.  I’m sure we have all heard the Hitler comparison by now.  I really don’t care about a candidate’s birth certificate or personal medical files being released for the nation’s consumption.  I would hate to think that the results of my last Pap exam, how many cavities I have or whether I birthed my kids naturally would be debated on the national news if I was to run for President.  Where does it stop?

This election has been about right and wrong for me.  I didn’t vote straight down party lines on this ballot, although I’ve made little secret of who I support for President, if you know me in real life.  I’m afraid that there is a large population that will be voting based on exactly the things I mentioned in the previous paragraph.  However, there are much bigger issues I look at when I cast my vote for the leaders of our government. Issues of right and wrong.  Issues that have an eternal impact.

I also realize that my beliefs are increasingly unpopular in our country, but I will still stand by them because I see a bigger picture.  I’m also aware that whoever we elect, for whatever office, will still exercise their God-given free will.  They will make mistakes.  They will say or do things that are not what I would do.

I think the simple fact that they are people just like you and I has been forgotten.  No matter who they are, what they believe or how they treat me, it does not give me the right to treat them poorly in return.  Love your neighbor as yourself.  The Golden Rule.  It all applies here.

Romans 13:1-7

Submission to the Authorities

1Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. 2 Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. 3 For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and he will commend you. 4 For he is God’s servant to do you good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword for nothing. He is God’s servant, an agent of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer. 5 Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also because of conscience. 6 This is also why you pay taxes, for the authorities are God’s servants, who give their full time to governing. 7 Give everyone what you owe him: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.

