I realized yesterday that we are only two short weeks away from Christmas! Yikes!!! I’m still in denial…

I am working on getting my Ravelry (CraftyMama11) page up to date, so I took pictures of some of the finished knits I have overlooked. I do the same thing for my quilts and it’s handy to pull up the photo and pattern, plus my notes about a project when I have questions.

This is my Dropped Yarn Over Scarf, free pattern from Curly Purly.

Dropped Yarnover Scarf

And here it is in action:

Dropped Yarn Over Scarf In Action

I’ve knit both the kids pairs of socks in the last couple of months. I used Wool-Ease for their socks, so I can machine wash and dry them with the rest of the laundry. G-Bunny’s are a light pink heather and T-Man’s are an oatmeal heather color. I also won’t feel bad about tossing these in the garbage as they wear them out, or in T-Man’s case, outgrow them.

G-Bunny ankle socks
T-Man Socks

I finished the thumb on this mitt Tuesday night while watching America’s Funniest Home Videos with the kids.

Fingerless Mitt

I am trying to decide if I really want to make a matching mitt or if I want to just scrap the whole thing.

One finished mitt - My Hand

I don’t really like the fit, but I’ve been wearing it for the last little bit and it’s keeping my mouse hand nice and warm. I love the yarn, but it’s too dense the way I knit it and feels bulky. I’m still undecided.

I finished these socks too.

San Juan Socks

Hubby had the last two days off, so I knit a lot, while he played on the computer or Rock Band with the kids. I’m still pushing for a laptop of my own.

Llama Cowl

This will be a cowl (based on this pattern) out of some llama yarn I have had for a couple of years. It’s coming along, but I’m not as in love with the yarn after knitting it. I’m hoping it will be worth it in the end because it is super soft. I’m switching between two yarns, creating a wide stripe pattern because I don’t have enough of either one to make it the size I want and I’m just going to keep knitting until I run out. I’ve learned quite a few things with this project, like that I prefer double pointed needles over circular needles because my wrist can’t take the unsupported stress for hours at a time.

The Christmas Countdown is coming along too.

Day 8: The Christmas Origami kit I pulled out is REALLY complicated and I didn’t have the energy to oversee the frustration, so we all watched Santa Clause, including Hubby. (If you watch NUMB3RS, you’ll really get a kick out of Bernard.)

Day 9: The popcorn and cider/ hot chocolate snack was a hit and we watched Santa Clause 2.

Day 10: My normally crafty kids didn’t want to “stamp a card for a friend, write a note and mail it” because they thought it was school in disguise. They painted with watercolors instead.

Hubby and I had our Date Night, while the kids were at AWANA. Since we are wild and crazy, we went to the yarn store (very disappointing), to eat at Jack In The Box (new antenna balls!) and to the pet store to look at the puppies and kittens. We also got gas for Hubby’s car.

Day 11: The kids didn’t want to make Foamie Ornaments, so I made one by myself. The kids were into a made up game of “High School” which was very entertaining for me.

Day 11 Bonus: I baked some of my favorite Christmas cookies and discovered they are really good with my coffee this morning.

Day 12: Tonight is movie night, Polar Express, as long as the forecasted snowstorm leaves the power on. I’ll be the sleeping lump at the end of the couch.

I’m not really sure about having another Movie Night this week, but I do like the break. Hubby has one day off between now and Christmas, so I’m conserving energy where I can. We still need to buy some gifts for the kids, which Hubby will end up doing since the kids are always with me. The pros and cons of Home Schooling – I know exactly what they want and need, but can’t keep it a surprise if I shop with them.

Have a great weekend!

