I’m sick.

I hate being sick. The first three days were flu-like and I didn’t eat much. Two days ago, this nasty virus settled into my sinuses and chest and is currently having a huge party. I let myself get dehydrated and I’m paying for that today in the form of the beginnings of a UTI. As if I needed something else to make me feel miserable.

I forced as much fluid as I could this morning and I’m starting to feel better. I made a run up to the grocery store for donuts and cranberry juice, which I will drink in moderation now that I’m not in pain. I’m hoping my tried and proven self-treatment will work, as I really don’t have the energy to drive up to the after-hours clinic for a prescription.

Anyway, I’m curled up on the couch today under a fuzzy blanket and with my laptop, cranberry juice in easy reach. I’m tracking mushers on the Iditarod website and logging my favorites on my log sheets every half-hour or so. I have the start of another hat on the needles right beside me and several hours of audiobook to listen to while I knit, should I get the urge. I also have the movie Australia to watch. I want to sort through all my pictures again, so I can order prints, but I can’t seem to focus long enough right now.

I’m just thankful the kids are able to fend for themselves for a bit at this age.

