Where has the time gone?

I blinked and another week has passed. I’m still trying to put together a post about Easter too. I may just scrap that and run with the Tulip Festival from this week. Yep, that sounds good.

We have a family tradition of going to the Tulip Festival for my birthday. The weather this spring has been cold, wet and dreary, so we planned a late-in-the-month date to drive up and see all the blooms. We got very lucky with the weather, it was sunny and fairly warm, with a little breeze. I loaded up some snacks, filled the hydration packs for the kids and packed the camera gear.

The drive up isn’t bad from our house, only about a hour. We turned off and started looking for the colorful fields, only to find field upon field of unplanted dirt. We went to our one tried-and-true spots that has a huge garden and found parking. Over the next hour and a half, I took pictures and we wandered the gardens.

IMG_6725 - Kids at the Windmill

The “Required” Windmill Photo

IMG_6735 - IDK the name

I was taken by the edges on this one. I took about 6 pictures of this one bloom, with 3 making the final Flickr cut.

IMG_6739 - Daffy Shadows

There were lots of daffodils too. They just aren’t my favorite. I did take a few just because and really loved this next one.

IMG_6871 - Short-Trumpet Daffy

There was every color, fringes and ruffled edges, big and little blooms, some in the sun and some in the shade. And then there were these baby pinecones T-Man loved.

IMG_6841 - Pinecone Bokeh

This picture though, while not of my favorite variety, was my absolute favorite shot of the day. You can click on any of the pictures to go to the rest of the set at Flickr.

IMG_6803 - LOVE this one

Happy May Day!

