I’ve been thinking about the cycle of things lately. The seasons flowing into each other, the sun coming up earlier and setting later, the stars marching across the night sky in perfect order. The seeds that we planted are coming up in force right now and the flowers are blooming under the bright blue sky. The summer resident birds are coming back and the symphony some mornings is almost unpleasant. There have been blackbird courtships and male quail showdowns under the feeder in the evenings.

It’s finally Spring and I’m really trying to shake off Winter.

The simple fact is I prefer to hermit my life away. I like the solitude, the quiet hours and no strict schedule. I like the freedom of not being a slave to the clock and not running hither and yon for one activity or another. I like Winter for this reason. I can say I’m snowed in and people don’t question why I’m not out with the masses. During Winter, it is completely acceptable to curl up on the couch with a quilt and a good book. (Who am I kidding? – most days it would be the laptop!)

Spring demands that I be busy. There’s things to do, places to go and people to see. I’ve got a garden to tend, cleaning to do, adventures to plan and fresh air to breathe. Don’t get me wrong now, when I’m out and about I love it. It’s the getting out the door that is the hard part. I would much rather be home, watching my own flowers grow and laughing at the birds in the backyard.

And while I’m doing that, you can put money that I have my knitting close by. It allows me to keep my hands busy and at the same time, hang out with the rest of the family. In the last month, I finished T-Man’s hat and he loves it. I liked this pattern and it really knit up quickly.

Camo Eyes

I also started and finished a shawl, from the yarn that refused to become a hat. I would have made it bigger, but I was getting tired of working on it and wanted to use it already.

Simple Cotton Shawl Closer View

I’m onto the second sock of a pair, that has been hanging out waiting for me to get excited about it again, and then I’m going to start my first sweater.

I’m still working out how to take my knitting camping with me and keep it clean.

